MACAW! MACAW!

So just a few minutes ago something totally surreal happened.

Just around sunset I was walking down the stairs at the side of the hotel. As I approached our terrace, I heard James’ macbook blasting out of our little out-door speakers. He was playing some oldskool rap music – I think it was Ice Cube. Just then I heard “Caaccaw!” and I glanced to my left to see two Scarlet Macaw parrots (the really pretty red/blue/yellow ones) flying about 20 feet away from where I stood.

As Ice Cube asked “Who the fuck got the camera?!” the two colourful parrots tousled in the air and cartwheeled past me. It a sublime moment that seemed to happen in slow-mo since the rap song was so damn slow. That just blew my mind.

Leave a Reply

